hard work pays off

I never thought that I would ever be hooked with playing guitar. True, I had some interest in it which started during my early childhood when my Mom bought my sister a guitar as a birthday gift. At times, I would try to strum the guitar and imagined I was a professional guitarist. I didn’t need the comments from my siblings to know that I couldn’t produce any pleasing sound or simple rhythm. I couldn’t even press the notes right. The guitar sounded horrible… really horrible. I looked in front of the mirror imagining that I was a professional guitarist, but that didn’t turn out very well.

Hoping that, perhaps, if I try my best I would be able to play even at least simple music, I decided to buy a guitar for myself. Few months before my 16th birthday, I started to save money. I think it was my most valuable gift for myself ever. On my birthday, which falls in January of this year, I started to play guitar. During the first days, I felt like giving up strumming as it was not only frustrating for me, I also find it too painful for my fingers. I couldn’t even press the right notes. However, I did not give up easily. For one, I worked hard to be able to buy my guitar and I didn’t want to waste my hard-earned money. For another, I was really determined to learn how to play the guitar. Almost every night I watched guitar tutorials and I studied one song. At last, after how many months of playing the guitar I was able to use the guitar the right way. Finally, the day has come when it I can proudly say that I can now make good sounds and play my favorite music through my guitar. It is really true that hard work and self-determination lead us closer to our dreams.

Leave a comment